Conference updates district leadership assignments

Bishop L. Jonathan Holston, resident bishop of the South Carolina Conference of The United Methodist Church, has updated the assignments for district supervision.

Effective June 26, the Greenville and Walterboro districts will pilot a shared coverage model, with superintendents from the surrounding geographic regions offering collaborative leadership.

The superintendents from the Anderson, Greenwood and Spartanburg districts—the Revs. Steve Patterson, Chris Lollis and Cathy Mitchell—will serve the Greenville District in addition to their home districts.

The superintendents from the Charleston, Florence and Orangeburg districts—the Rev. Jeffrey Salley, Terry Fleming and Ken Nelson—will serve the Walterboro District in addition to their home districts.

The district offices in the Greenville and Walterboro districts will remain in operation, and the dedicated staff in those offices and members of district boards and committees will continue to serve. 

The Rev. Telley Gadson will continue as superintendent of the Hartsville District.

Here is the full list of districts and their superintendents:

• Anderson District: Rev. Steve Patterson

• Charleston District: Rev. Jeffrey Salley

• Columbia District: Rev. Fran Elrod

• Florence District: Rev. Terry Fleming

• Greenville District: Collaborative (Lollis, Mitchell and Patterson)

• Greenwood District: Rev. Chris Lollis

• Hartsville District: Rev. Telley Gadson

• Marion District: Rev. Steve Brown

• Orangeburg District: Rev. Ken Nelson

• Rock Hill District: Rev. Anthony Hodge

• Spartanburg District: Rev. Cathy Mitchell

• Walterboro District: Collaborative (Fleming, Nelson and Salley)

Appreciate what you read
Get Periodic Updates from the Advocate We never sell or share your information. You can unsubscribe from receiving our emails at any time.