South Carolina delegates elected to General, Jurisdictional conferences

By Jessica Brodie

Annual Conference has elected its lay and clergy delegates to the 2016 General and Southeastern Jurisdictional conferences.

The body is tasked this year to elect 16 delegates (eight clergy and eight laity) to General Conference, and 16 additional delegates (eight clergy and eight laity), plus alternates, who will go to Jurisdictional Conference with the General Conference delegates.

General Conference is the global United Methodist Church’s quadrennial legislative gathering set for May 10-20, 2016, in Portland, Oregon, where representatives from all over the world examine, discuss, pray, debate and eventually determine a host of key legislative issues that will become church law for the next four years. Jurisdictional Conference, which begins July 13, 2016, at Lake Junaluska, North Carolina, is held every four years primarily to elect bishops.

There were 51 lay nominees and 827 clergy nominees; lay nominee bios are online at

General Conference Lay Delegates

  • Barbara Ware
  • James Salley
  • Dr. Joseph Heyward
  • Herman Lightsey
  • Jackie Jenkins
  • Michael Cheatham
  • Martha Thompson
  • David Braddon

General Conference Clergy Delegates

  • Dr. Tim McClendon
  • Rev. Ken Nelson
  • Rev. Tim Rogers
  • Dr. Robin Dease
  • Rev. Tiffany Knowlin
  • Rev. Narcie Jeter
  • Rev. Mel Arant Jr.
  • Rev. Susan Leonard-Ray

Jurisdictional Conference Lay Delegates

  • Lollie Haselden
  • Emily Rogers Evans
  • Donald Love
  • Jennifer Price
  • Chris Lynch
  • Dr. Carolyn Briscoe
  • Linda DuRant
  • Lou Jordan
  • Alternate: Cynthia Williams
  • Alternate: Marilyn Murphy

Jurisdictional Conference Clergy Delegates

  • Rev. Telley Gadson
  • Rev. Michael Turner
  • Rev. Kathy James
  • Rev. George Ashford
  • Rev. James Friday
  • Rev. Sara White
  • Rev. Hayes Gainey
  • Rev. Emily Sutton
  • Alternate: Rev. Jeff Kersey
  • Alternate: Rev. Connie Barnes

Get Periodic Updates from the Advocate We never sell or share your information. You can unsubscribe from receiving our emails at any time.