Thank you, retiring pastors

Annual Conference celebrates 36 retirees with service, video

By Allison Trussell

FLORENCE — Practice what you preach and preach what you practice, advised the Rev. Ed McDowell Jr.

Don t think you re the one building the church because all ministries are built upon what s been done before, said the Rev. George Gain.

Always keep your eye on the mission of the church, said the Rev. George Olive.

These are just a few of the words of advice from the 2013 class of retiring United Methodist clergy. The 36 men and women were honored June 11 in a service at Annual Conference.

After receiving certificates and recognition from Bishop Jonathan Holston, the pastors returned to their seats to watch a video of their memories and advice for the conference.

My first act of ministry was catching hogs! remembered the Rev. John Holler. He advised new pastors to visit others with a genuine heart.

The Rev. Angelin Simmons said while she enjoyed the various charge conferences she went to as a district superintendent, appointment-making time drove her crazy.

The Rev. Joe Durham advised, Don t be afraid to make a mistake or laugh at yourself. I try to be who God intended me to be.

The Rev. John Mims warned younger pastors that the ride is short; it ll go by very fast. Enjoy every opportunity.

At the end of the service, Simmons passed the mantle from her shoulders to those of the Rev. Scott Walter Smoak, reminding incoming pastors that the responsibilities and dedication of the retiring class are to be caught and carried by them.

Holston closed the service, With love, we send you forth in the spirit of John Wesley: May the world be your parish.

Retiring pastors include Athon Melton Arant Sr., John Melvin Bell, Katherine Halsey Bostrom, Philip Loren Bostrom, T. Lee Bryant Jr., James Bowen Carter, Philip Evan Chandler, Joe Darsey Durham, George Ronald Gain, Joyce Arlene Hendry, John Emory Holler Jr., Larry Richard Hyder, William Simon James, Jane Driver Jenkins, Roberta Cabbagestalk Josey, Phil Clyde Lavender, Carolyn Rampley Malphrus, Edward Homer McDowell Jr., James Rochelle McGee, John Walter Mims, Louis Marion Mims Jr., Forest Dean Mixon, James Elliott Moore, Steven Douglas Morgan, James Michael Morris, George Everette Olive, Carolyn McGinty Rawlinson, Jimmy Michael Ridenour, George William Scott, Angelin Jones Simmons, Mary Ann Snowden, William Henderson Tanner Jr., Samuel Simpson Warwick, Curtis Edsel Wells, Toni Louise White and George Mowry Workman.

Get Periodic Updates from the Advocate We never sell or share your information. You can unsubscribe from receiving our emails at any time.