South Carolina’s General Conference delegates begin meetings

By Jessica Brodie

COLUMBIA—South Carolina’s 16 delegates to next year’s United Methodist General Conference gathered Sunday, July 28, for their kickoff meeting.

Elected at Annual Conference in June, the eight lay and eight clergy delegates, plus alternates, will meet monthly as they prepare for General Conference, set for May 5-15, 2020, in Minneapolis.

Held at 3 p.m. at the United Methodist Conference Center in Columbia, the meetings enable the delegates to discuss issues and share fellowship in preparation for their time at The United Methodist Church’s quadrennial gathering. Many of those elected will be first-time delegates.

The Rev. Ken Nelson was the first elected among clergy, and the Hon. Jackie Jenkins was the first elected among laity.

Delegates were elected from a pool of eligible people who expressed a desire to be considered as a delegate.

There were 35 lay nominees, each selected through their district or approved group, and 84 clergy who have articulated a desire to be a nominee. A number of write-in nominees were also considered.

The delegates will also head to Jurisdictional Conference July 15-18, 2020, at Lake Junaluska, North Carolina, along with 16 others elected for that quadrennial meeting.

General Conference Clergy

Rev. Ken Nelson

Dr. Robin Dease

Rev. Keith Hunter

Rev. Susan Leonard

Rev. Emily Sutton

Rev. Will Malambri

Rev. Tiffany Knowlin

Rev. Karen Jones

Alternates: Rev. Tim Rogers and Rev. Cathy Mitchell

General Conference Laity

Jacqueline Jenkins

James Salley

Michael Cheatham

Herman Lightsey

Chris Lynch

Martha Fridy Thompson

David Braddon

Emily Evans

Alternates: Betty Void and David Salter

Get Periodic Updates from the Advocate We never sell or share your information. You can unsubscribe from receiving our emails at any time.